Testimonials

A growing number of companies, intergovernmental organizations and associations share the WOC’s vision of a healthy and productive ocean and its sustainable use and stewardship by responsible businesses. Here is what they say about our endeavours:

We got to take care of our planet and clean oceans for future generations. Most of our members are based close to shores and waterways and I am sure that our membership with WOC is the right step to manifest our commitment towards a cleaner tomorrow.

Wolfgang Karau Director of Worldwide Project Consortium, Priority Cargo Network, Cargo Equipment Experts July 4, 2019

We see this as a great step towards integrating the UN Sustainable Development Goals in the different sectors we are operating in, and we are proud to be a part and contribute to the great work of the WOC.

Ido Sella Co-founder, ECOncrete June 11, 2019

BMT is pleased to become a Member of the World Ocean Council. With the growing number of challenges facing the ocean and the ocean business community, the WOC provides a unique global, cross-sectoral platform for engaging a diverse range of leadership companies seeking to collaborate on ocean sustainable development action.

Greg Fisk Business Development Director (Environment), BMT April 1, 2019

Island countries are especially dependent on the Blue Economy. We are intimately linked to the ocean. We recognize that business leadership in addressing ocean health requires an international, multi-sectoral approach. The World Ocean Council uniquely provides the platform for ocean business leadership, collaboration and action on ocean sustainable development at the truly global scale needed.

Conrad Benoiton Seychelles Petroleum Company (SEYPEC) CEO March 29, 2019

Key minerals such as phosphate are critical to sustainable development. Marine sources for these minerals will play an increasingly important role as terrestrial sources become depleted and the procedures and technology for responsible extraction are developed. The WOC provides a unique global industry platform for responsible marine mining operators to collaborate and to engage with other ocean industries and stakeholders on responsible use of ocean resources.

Chris Castle Chatham Rock Phosphate CEO January 9, 2019

Ports play a critical role in ocean development sustainability and global ocean allied industries require a global approach. Team SAGT recognizes WOC as an international industry platform creating the opportunity for SAGT and other like-minded responsible maritime industry operators to collaborate in tackling the challenges to the future of the ocean ecosystem and ocean related businesses.

Romesh David South Asia Gateway Terminals CEO January 7, 2019

SeaAhead is excited to be a new member of the WOC, a global organization of ocean business leaders dedicated to ocean stewardship. We look forward to working with WOC Members and the global ocean business community on accelerating the development, investment and uptake of innovation for sustainable development. We encourage other ocean related innovation accelerators to engage with the WOC to help achieve the scale and pace of efforts needed to tackle the challenges facing the ocean.

Mark Huang SeaAhead Co-Founder December 10, 2018

IHC Mining is pleased to become a WOC member. With activities such as the recent Business Forum on Ocean Policy and Planning, it is creating valuable opportunities for ocean industry collaboration and leadership on issues critical to the future of seabed mining.

Henk van Muijen IHC Mining’s Managing Director July 14, 2016

It is important that ocean industries are informed and constructively engaged in ocean governance developments. The WOC is providing this by monitoring, analyzing and reporting on the ocean policy and planning on behalf of the ocean business community. The WOC merits the support and involvement of companies concerned about the future of their ocean operations.

Peter Hinchliffe The Secretary General of the International Chamber of Shipping July 14, 2016

Commercial vessels are the only realistic option for providing observation platforms at the scale necessary. The WOC Smart Ocean-Smart Industries program was exactly the mechanism we needed to identify and engage a shipping company that might respond to our needs for instrument hosting and ocean data collection.

James Foster School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology (SOEST) July 14, 2016

Ensuring ocean industries are addressing their marine environmental impacts and contributing to clean seas requires a global approach for a global ocean. Thordon Bearings is pleased to become a member of the World Ocean Council. This unique international industry alliance creates the opportunity for Thordon and other innovators to work with leadership companies from other sectors to tackle the shared sustainability challenges affecting the future of the ocean and of business operations.

Craig Carter Director of Marketing and Customer Service at Thordon Bearings July 14, 2016

The Smart Ocean-Smart Industries program was one of the main reasons we joined the World Ocean Council. The WOC enables new models for cooperation between the scientific/ocean observing community and ocean industries to address our shared challenges. The tsunami detection project is a perfect example of the potential of these collaborations. Through our fleet of more than 600 vessels, deeper knowledge of the oceans can be gained, resulting ultimately in higher safety of exposed coastal areas.

Signe Bruun Jensen Head of Sustainability at Maersk Line July 14, 2016

The Qikiqtaaluk Corporation is pleased to become a member of the World Ocean Council, which provides for important international business leadership on sustainable development in the far north. With the increased level of economic activity in the Arctic, it is crucial that we collaborate with other industries in ensuring that the growing economic opportunities in the region, which are critical to the future of our communities, are safe and responsible.

Harry Flaherty President and CEO June 25, 2016

Arctia is pleased to become a member of the World Ocean Council, which provides an important global business leadership alliance on ocean sustainability, science and stewardship. With the increased level of economic activity in the Arctic region, it is critical for ocean companies to collaborate in ensuring that the growing industry operations in ice and Arctic conditions are safe and responsible.

Tero Vauraste CEO June 23, 2016

The WOC role on ocean policy is not only crucial to the shipping sector rather than crucial to all ocean industries. The WOC is usually the only ocean industry presence at the UN and other international meetings on cross-cutting ocean policy, such as the current Law of the Sea negotiations. The WOC Business Forum last month exemplifies WOC’s unique and vital role in bringing together the diverse ocean business community.

Capt Paul Jeffrey Senior Port Projects Manager June 23, 2016